Simon Spilak wins Tour de Romandie stage four as Chris Froome extends lead

Simon Spilak wins, Tour de Romandie 2013, stage four

Katusha's Simon Spilak beat Chris Froome (Sky) in a two-man sprint to win stage four's rainy queen stage of the Tour de Romandie.

The Slovenian's win was his second of the season, and also saw him move into second in the overall classification, 47 seconds behind Froome, who looks sure to consolidate his victory in tomorrow's time trial.

The peloton contested a queen stage the route of which was significantly altered. Snowfall meant that the second accent and descent of the Col de la Croix had to be cancelled, as the riders were instead sent on an uphill but easier ride to the finish in Las Diablerets.

On the run-in team Sky were put under pressure from threatening attacks by Tony Martin and later Thibaut Pinot, Robert Kiserlovski, Marcel Wyss and Simon Spilak.

When their last man Richie Porte could put no more in, Froome moved to the front and dropped the rest of the group, joining Spilak who remained up the road. The pair gradually extended their league, and finished one minute and three seconds ahead of the chasing group.

The Movistar duo of Rui Costa and Alejandro Valverde sprinted to third and fourth respectively in the chasing group (which did not include a dropped Andrew Talansky), but they will be disappointed to have let Froome put so much time into them.

The group failed to work together as riders refused to work at the front, and by allowing a time-trialist as good as Froome so much time they have surely sacrificed any chance of winning overall.


Tour de Romandie 2013, stage four: Marly - Les Diablerets

1. Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha 188.5km in 5-10-00

2. Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky at st.

3. Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) Movistar at 1min 3secs

4. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar

5. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco

6. Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) AG2R

7. Marcel Wyss (Swi) IAM Cycling

8. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R

9. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack Leopard

10. Igor Anton Hernandez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi all at st.

Overall classification after stage four

1. Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky in 19-03-10

2. Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha at 47secs

3. Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) Movistar at 1min 21secs

4. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack Leopard at 1min 22 secs

5. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ at 1 min 26secs

6. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar at st.

7. Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin-Sharp at 1min 27 secs

8. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Blanco at 1 min 28secs

9. Carlos Alberto Betancur Gomez (Col) AG2R at st.

10. Marcel Wyss (Swi) IAM Cycling at 1min 43secs

Col des Mosses

Tony Martin goes solo

Chris Froome leads Simon Spilak in the escape

Simon Spilak takes the stage, Chris Froome extends overall lead

Related links

Meersman wins again in Romandie (stage three)

Tour de Romandie 2013: stage two photo gallery

Tour de Romandie 2013: stage one photo gallery

Ramunas Navardauskas wins Tour de Romandie stage two

Gianni Meersman wins Tour de Romandie stage one

Tour de Romandie 2013: prologue photo gallery

Chris Froome wins Tour de Romandie prologue

Tour de Romandie 2013: The Big Preview

Read Cycling Weekly magazine on the day of release wherever you are in the world with our iPad and iPhone edition - International digital edition, UK digital edition. And if you like us, rate us!

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1