Dani Martínez pips Julian Alaphilippe to victory on stage four of the Tour of the Basque Country

Ineos Grenadiers rider wins after final rider of breakaway caught within the final kilometre

Dani Martínez
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Dani Martínez (Ineos Grenadiers) timed his sprint to perfection to pip Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) to victory on stage four of the Tour of the Basque Country.

The Colombian won by just a tyre-width in Zamudio ahead of the world champion, after the final survivor of the breakaway was caught within the final kilometre. Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates) came in third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Adam Becket
News editor

Adam is Cycling Weekly’s news editor – his greatest love is road racing but as long as he is cycling on tarmac, he's happy. Before joining Cycling Weekly he spent two years writing for Procycling, where he interviewed riders and wrote about racing. He's usually out and about on the roads of Bristol and its surrounds. Before cycling took over his professional life, he covered ecclesiastical matters at the world’s largest Anglican newspaper and politics at Business Insider. Don't ask how that is related to cycling.