Mathieu van der Poel wins Dwars door Vlaanderen after thrilling finale

The Dutchman wins the race for the second time

Mathieu van der Poel
(Image credit: Getty)

Mathieu van der Poel superbly won Dwars door Vlaanderen after a thrilling final 10 kilometres characterised by multiple attacks.

The Alpecin-Fenix rider helped formed a very strong chase group with more than 60km left to race, and despite trying his fortune a few times to jump clear, the 27-year-old had to wait until the final few minutes of action before an attack stuck.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Chris Marshall-Bell

A freelance sports journalist and podcaster, you'll mostly find Chris's byline attached to news scoops, profile interviews and long reads across a variety of different publications. He has been writing regularly for Cycling Weekly since 2013. In 2024 he released a seven-part podcast documentary, Ghost in the Machine, about motor doping in cycling.

Previously a ski, hiking and cycling guide in the Canadian Rockies and Spanish Pyrenees, he almost certainly holds the record for the most number of interviews conducted from snowy mountains. He lives in Valencia, Spain.