Remco Evenepoel stamps his authority on Vuelta a España with stage 18 win

Heartbreak for Robert Gesink on Alto de Pironal as he is caught within the final kilometre

Vuetla a Espana stage 18 2022
(Image credit: Tim de Waele / Getty)

 Red jersey wearer Remco Evenepoel stamped his authority on the Vuelta a España with victory atop the Alto de Pironal after a dramatic finish that contained heartbreak for veteran Robert Gesink.

Jumbo-Visma rider Gesink had been the last remaining survivor of the day’s 32-man breakaway and had been holding a healthy gap to the chase behind until Evenepoel launched his decisive attack.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1