Anna van der Breggen wins exciting mountain top stage to take overall victory at Vuelta a Burgos

The world champion beats Annemiek van Vleuten in a battle of the Dutch masters

Anna van der Breggen
(Image credit: Getty)

The Vuelta Burgos finished in exciting style on Sunday, with the world champion Anna van der Breggen taking the stage and overall victory on the fearsome climb to Lagunas de Neila.

The world champion entered the final kilometre with only Annemiek van Vleuten for company. The SDWorx rider led the way, stuck tight to the barrier, and forcing Van Vleuten to take the long way round when she opened her sprint. That gave Van der Breggen time to react.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.