GP Ouest France 2013: Preview

One of the hidden gems of the WorldTour calendar takes place on Sunday – the GP Ouest France.

The one-day race in Brittany – formerly known as the GP Plouay – features nine circuits of a 27-kilometre loop north of the town of Plouay, 243 kilometres in total. There are three main climbs per loop, adding up to a draggy, leg-sapping race that’s perfect for a pre-World Championships form tester.

There’s a strong British contingent taking part in the 2013 race, with Sky fielding Geraint Thomas, Peter Kennaugh, Ian Stannard and Jonathan Tiernan-Locke. Fellow Brits Adam Blythe and Alex Dowsett line up for BMC Racing and Movistar respectively.

They will come up against the likes of Alberto Contador (Saxo-Tinkoff), Rui Costa (Movistar), Lars Boom, Thomas Voeckler, Pierre Rolland (both Europcar), Matthew Goss (Orica-GreenEdge), John Degenkolb (Argos-Shimano), Damiano Cunego (Lampre-Merida), Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma) and Andy Schleck (RadioShack).

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) won the race last year after bridging up to late attacker Costa over the final climb of Cote de Ty-Marrec and riding clear to deny a bunch sprint.

Boasson Hagen is absent from the race this year as he is riding in the Vuelta a Espana, so Sky team-mate Gabriel Rasch will wear the number one plate.

One British rider has won the race since its first edition in 1931 – Jeremy Hunt took the victory in 2002. 

GP Ouest France 2013
Where: Brittany, France
When: Sunday, September 1 2013
Distance: 243km – nine laps of a 27km circuit
Status: UCI WorldTour
Main climbs: Cote du Lezot, Chapelle Ste Anne des Bois, Cote de Ty-Marrec

GP Ouest France 2013: Teams
Ag2r La Mondiale (Fra)
Argos-Shimano (Ned)
Astana (Kaz)
Belkin (Ned)
BMC Racing (USA)
Bretagne Schuller (Fra)
Cannondale (Ita)
Cofidis (Fra)
Euskaltel-Euskadi (Spa)
FDJ (Fra)
Garmin-Sharp (USA)
IAM Cycling (Sui)
Katusha (Rus)
Lampre-Merida (Ita)
Lotto-Belisol (Bel)
Movistar (Spa)
Omega Pharma-QuickStep (Bel)
Orica-GreenEdge (Aus)
Radioshack-Leopard (Lux)
Saxo-Tinkoff (Den)
Sky (GBr)
Sojasun (Fra)
Vacansoleil-DCM (Ned)

GP Ouest France 2013: TV coverage
British Eurosport 2 will be showing highlights of the race from 7-8pm on Sunday, September 1.

GP Ouest France: Recent winners
2012: Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor)
2011: Grega Bole (Slo)
2010: Matt Goss (Aus)
2009: Simon Gerrans (Aus)
2008: Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra)
2007: Thomas Voeckler (Fra)
2006: Vincenzo Nibali (Ita)
2005: George Hincapie (USA)
2004: Didier Rous (Fra)
2003: Andy Flickinger (Fra)

GP Ouest France: Last year’s top ten (2012)
1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Sky 5-55-28
2. Rui Costa (Por) Movistar at 5secs
3. Heinrich Haussler (Aus) Garmin-Sharp
4. Matt Goss (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
5. Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Belisol
6. Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM
7. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Radioshack-Nissan
8. Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana
9. Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis
10. Luca Paolini (Ita) Katusha all same time
121. Alex Dowsett (GBr) Team Sky at 7-07

Related links

2012 report: Boasson Hagen bludgeons to GP Plouay victory

Upcoming events