Allan Davis Tour Down Under 2009

Tour Down Under stage six photo gallery by Graham Watson>>

The largest crowds of the Tour Down Under ? estimated at 143,000 ? witnessed a final stage win for Italian Francesco Chicchi (Liquigas) as Allan Davis (Quick Step) successfully defended his ochre jersey to run out as the overall winner.

The 28-year old Australian is the only rider to take part in all eleven Tours Down Under, and at his eleventh attempt he has finally won his country?s premier stage race.

The final stage was a circuit race in the centre of Adelaide over 90km, on a 5km circuit. It included a small climb and provided a typically dramatic final day?s racing, with a thirteen-man break escaping early on.

Naturally the move included the rider wearing the red number for his aggression the previous day: 19-year old Jack Bobridge of the South Australia University-sponsored national team.

But, more worryingly for Davis, it also included two riders who were within 44 seconds of him on general classification: Wesley Sulzberger (Francaise des Jeux) and former Tour Down Under winner Luis Leon Sanchez (Caisse d?Epargne).

As the thirteen raced to a two-minute lead ? driven on by Bobridge and his countryman Sulzberger ? Davis put his Quick Step team to work, ordering them to the front of the peloton to lead the chase. It took a few laps for them to reduce the gap, but when it started to come down the end was inevitable, and Davis could begin to breathe easier.

Once the group was caught several counter-attacks were launched, one including Lance Armstrong (Astana), but it finished as every stage has finished - with a bunch sprint.

Columbia-High Road led it out, but, with a lunge in the final metres, it was Chicchi, the 2002 under-23 world road race champion, who took the stage.

1. Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Liquigas in 1 hour 42 mins

2. Robbie McEwen (Aus) Katusha

3. Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank

4. Gregory Henderson (NZl) Columbia

5. Jose Rojas (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne

6. Tom Leezer (Ned) Rabobank

7. Willem Stroetinga (Ned) Milram

8. Guillaume Blot (Fra) Cofidis

9. Jacopo Guanieri (Ita) Liquigas

10. Martin Elmiger (Swi) Ag2r all at same time.

1. Allan Davis (Aus) Quick Step

2. Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Saxo Bank at 25secs

3. Jose Rojas (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne at 30 secs

4. Martin Elmiger (Swi) Ag2r at same time

5. Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) Francaise des Jeux at 37secs

6. Michael Rogers (Aus) Columbia at 38secs

7. Matthew Wilson (Aus) UniSA at 39secs

8. Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Lampre at 40secs

9. Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) Francaise des Jeux

10. Mickael Cherel (Fra) Francaise des Jeux at same time.

Tour Down Under 2009

Lance Armstrong finished in 29th place overall

Tour Down Under 2009

Francesco Chicchi wins the final stage

Tour Down Under 2009

Allan Davis celebrates the overall win - at his 11th attempt

Photos by Graham Watson



Stage five: Davis makes it three

Stage four: Davis wins again in Tour Down Under

Stage three: Brown leads Aussie charge

Stage two: Davis takes gruelling stage

Stage one: Greipel wins first stage

Cancer Council Classic: McEwen gets Katusha's first win Down Under


Stage six photo gallery

Stage five photo gallery

Stage four photo gallery

Stage three photo gallery

Stage two photo gallery

Stage one photo gallery

Cancer Council Classic

Desktop wallpaper: Tour Down Under pics added


Stage four: Video highlights

Stage three: Video highlights

Stage two: Video highlights

Stage one: Video highlights

Cancer Council Classic: Video highlights


Tour Down Under preview

Armstrong in Adelaide... and Astana kit

Armstrong to get elite security team for Tour Down Under

Armstrong vs Hincapie at Tour Down Under

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1