Tony Gibb 2008 Eddie Soens

Tony Gibb and his Plowman Craven team mates responded to dominance in last week?s Clayton Velo race by dominating the sprint at the 49th edition of the Eddie Soens Memorial race at Aintree on Saturday.

Gibb?s fourth win meant he has now equalled local legend Doug Dailey who won the traditional early season race four times.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.