England finish second in men's team pursuit qualifying

Track cycling gets underway in the Chris Hoy velodrome in Glasgow - Australia fastest in team pursuit qualifying, England second - Australia and New Zealand dominate sprint qualifying - Scotland's first medal looks set to come from women's tandem sprint

Wiggins began to wind down his road career with the 2016 Olympic Games team pursuit squad in view, and made a successful return to the boards as England won gold at the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Bradley Wiggins's quest to win a first Commonwealth Games gold medal remains on course after England qualified second in the men's team pursuit on day one of Glasgow 2014.

Wiggins, his Olympic-winning team-mate in Beijing Ed Clancy, Steven Burke and Andy Tennant posted a 3-59.249  inside the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome, two seconds slower than Australia.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1