Commonwealth Games

Commonwealth Games 2022

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Commonwealth Games 2022,
Location: Birmingham, UK
Dates: July 28 - August 8

The Commonwealth Games currently features four cycling categories: track, road race, time trial and mountain bike.

Track cycling will take place from Friday 29 July to Monday 1 August at the Lee Valley VeloPark in London, the same venue used at the 2012 Olympic Games. Mountain biking is next on the agenda on Wednesday 3 August, with the races navigating the Cannock Chase Forest, north of Birmingham. 

The time trial will get underway on Thursday 4 August, with the circuit starting and finishing in West Park in Wolverhampton. Finally, the road race will start and finish in St. Nicholas' Park in Warwick on Sunday 7 August, on the penultimate day of the Commonwealth Games. 

Commonwealth Games 2022 cycling schedule 

Track Cycling

Held at Lee Valley VeloPark, London

Friday 29 July


Women's Tandem B Sprint - Qualification and Semi-Finals
Women's and Men's 4000m Team Pursuit - Qualification
Women's and Men's Team Sprint - Qualification 


Women's Tandem B Sprint - Final
Men's Tandem B 1000m Time Trial - Final
Women's and Men's 4000m Team Pursuit - Finals
Women's and Men's Team Sprint - Finals

Saturday 30 July


Women's Sprint - Qualification, 1/8 Finals and Quarter-Finals
Women's 3000m Individual Pursuit - Qualification
Men's 4000m Individual Pursuit - Qualification


Men's Keirin - Round 1, Round 1 Repechage, Round 2 and Finals
Women's Sprint - Semi-Finals and Finals
Women's 3000m Individual Pursuit - Finals
Men's 4000m Individual Pursuit - Finals

Sunday 31 July


Men's Sprint - Qualification, 1/8 Finals and Quarter-Finals
Men's Tandem B Sprint - Qualification and Semi-Finals
Men's 15km Scratch Race - Qualification


Men's Tandem B Sprint - Finals
Men's Sprint - Semi-Finals and Finals
Women's Tandem B 1000m Time Trial - Final
Women's 25km Points Race - Final
Women's 500m Time Trial - Final
Men's 15km Scratch Race - Final

Monday 1 August 


Women's Keirin - Round 1, Round 1 Repechage, Round 2 and Finals
Men's 40km Point Race - Qualification and Final
Men's 1000m Time Trial - Final
Women's 10km Scratch Race - Final

Mountain Biking

Held at Cannock Chase Forest

Wednesday 3 August 

Men's Race - 11:30

Women's Race - 14:00

Time Trial

Commonwealth Games 2022 Time trial

(Image credit: Commonwealth Games 2022)

Held at West Park, Wolverhampton

Thursday 4 July


Both the men's and women's time trial will start in West Park in Wolverhampton , heading in a loop before finishing back in Wolverhampton. The loop takes in Dudley's historic castle plus Staffordshire, as the men race against the clock over 37km, while the women's time trial tackles a shorter 29km route.  

Road Race

Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games

(Image credit: Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games)

Held at St. Nicholas' Park, Warwick

Sunday 7 August 


The men's road race will complete 160km over ten laps of the course in Warwick. The women's road race sees the riders cover seven laps of the course, totalling 112km in what could prove a gruelling event. 

The course will start and finish in Warwick's St Nicholas' Park. Riders will then head through Leamington Spa and Hampton on the Hill, before crossing the River Avon with views of Warwick Castle. 

Commonwealth Games 2022: Live TV

The action will be broadcast across the BBC, on BBC TV, via the BBC Sport website and app, with further updates on BBC Radio 5 live. Catch-up is also available on BBC iPlayer. 

Commonwealth Games 2022 Team England riders

Track Cycling

Blaine Ridge-Davis
Charlie Tanfield
Dame Laura Kenny
Ethan Vernon
Grace Lister
Hayden Norris
Joe Truman
Josie Knight
Lauren Bate
Maddie Leech
Milly Tanner
Oliver Wood
Ryan Owens
Sophie Capewell
Sophie Lewis
Hamish Turnbull

Track cycling (Para)

Sophie Unwin
Georgia Holt (pilot)
Steve Bate MBE
Chris Latham (pilot)

Road Cycling

Abi Smith
Alice Barnes
Anna Henderson
Ben Turner
Connor Swift
Dan Bigham
Ethan Hayter
Fred Wright
Jake Stewart
Josie Nelson
Joss Lowden
Matt Walls

Mountain Bike

Evie Richards
Harry Birchill
Joseph Blackmore

Commonwealth Games 2022 Team Scotland riders

Charlie Aldridge
John Archibald
Lauren Bell
Jack Carlin
Libby Clegg
Finn Crockett
Neah Evans
Neil Fachie
Sean Flynn
Kyle Gordon
Jenny Holl (pilot)
Aileen McGlynn
Iona Moir
Anna Shackley
Isla Short
Lusia Steele
Lewis Stewart (pilot)
Mark Stewart
Ellie Stone (pilot)

Commonwealth Games 2022 Northern Ireland riders

Lydia Boylan
Chris McGlinchey
JB Murphy
Cameron Orr
Joanna Patterson
Darren Rafferty
Matthew Taggart
Alice Sharpe

Commonwealth Games 2022 Team Wales riders

Elynor Bäckstedt-Calvert
James Ball
Matt Rotherham (pilot)
Elinor Barker
Megan Barker
Ella Barnwell
Rhys Britton
Ellie Coster
Leah Dixon
Owain Doull
Rhian Edmunds
Emma Finucane
Joe Holt
Nia Holt
Amy Cole (pilot)
Eluned King
Harvey McNaughton
Anna Morris
Alex Pope
Steff Lloyd (pilot)
William Roberts
Jessica Roberts
Luke Rowe
Joshua Tarling
Geraint Thomas
Lowri Thomas
Stephen Williams