Great Britain team for Track World Championships announced

Great Britain will field a team mixing youth and experience at the 2014 UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Colombia over February 26 to March 2.

British Cycling announced the names of the 17 riders that will represent GB in Cali, which includes defending world champions Laura Trott, Dani King, Elinor Barker, Jason Kenny and Becky James.

Scottish rider Katie Archibald makes her World Championship debut for the team in the women’s endurance line-up after a solid performance in the 2013-14 World Cup rounds. She joins Trott, King, Barker and Rowsell, who between them will contest the four-rider team pursuit over four kilometres for the first time in the world championships. Previously it was three women over three kilometres.

Andy Tennant is the obvious omission in the men’s endurance line-up, which comprises Steven Burke, Ed Clancy, Jon Dibben, Owain Doull and Sam Harrison.

“I’m pleased with the results we’ve had at World Cup level this season, both from the established riders and the younger ones breaking through, and I think we can go into the World Championships with confidence this year,” said GB Performance Director Sir David Brailsford.

“With qualification for Rio 2016 expected to begin this year, this World Championships will allow us to lay down a marker to see where we are at against the best in the world and assess what work needs to be done.”

2014 UCI Track Cycling World Championships: Great Britain team

Men’s Sprint
Matt Crampton
Kian Emadi
Phil Hindes
Jason Kenny

Women’s Sprint
Becky James
Jess Varnish
Vicky Williamson

Men’s Endurance
Steven Burke
Ed Clancy
Jon Dibben
Owain Doull
Sam Harrison

Women’s Endurance
Katie Archibald
Elinor Barker
Dani King
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott