National champions Field and Wyman named in Cyclo-Cross World Championships squad

Ian Field and Helen Wyman are named in the 12-strong Great Britain team for the UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships in the Czech Republic

Newly-crowned national champions Ian Field and Helen Wyman will lead Great Britain at the UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships in the Czech Republic on January 31-February 1.

Wyman won her ninth British title in Abergavenny last weekend and is joined by Milton Keynes World Cup bronze medalist Nikki Harris, Amira Mellor, Hannah Payton in the women’s team.

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

>>> “No justification” for lower prize funds for women, says UK cyclocross star

Field, himself winning a fourth national title, is the lone elite male in the squad, with three men selected in the U23 team and four in the Junior team.

British Cycling’s cyclo-cross coordinator Stuart Blunt said: “We’ve selected a strong squad for this year’s World Championships, with some experienced riders particularly in the elite squads.

“As in previous years, the British elite women have been dominant on the world stage and, with Gabriella Durrin unavailable, Under-23 rider Hannah Payton and junior Amira Mellor join Nikki Harris and Helen Wyman to make up the elite women’s squad.

“In the elite men’s category, Ian Field has performed consistently this season and recorded a career-best result in the Milton Keynes round of the World Cup Series.

“The Under-23 and junior men squads, which includes British Cycling’s Olympic Development mountain bike rider Will Gascoyne, have all had strong seasons domestically and will benefit from the experience of competing at world level.”

Great Britain Cyclo-Cross Team:

Elite Men
Ian Field

Elite Women
Nikki Harris
Amira Mellor
Hannah Payton
Helen Wyman

U23 Men
Nicholas Barnes
Jack Clarkson
Ben Sumner

Junior Men
Will Gascoyne
Arthur Green
Alfie Moses
Joshua Waters