The Tour of Flanders will finish in Oudenaarde in 2012, meaning there will be no Muur de Geraardsbergen on the route.

Instead, the final 75 kilometres will centre around a circuit of the Oude Kwaremont and Paterberg, which is to be tackled three times.

The Paterberg will now be the race’s final climb, replacing the iconic, steep and often-decisive cobbled climb of the Muur. There will also be no Bosberg.

The Classic’s finish moves from Meerbeke, which had held the finish in 1973, to Minderbroederstraat in Oudenaarde.

After a flat opening ninety kilometres, next year’s Tour of Flanders tackles the climbs of the Nokereberg, Taaienberg, Eikenberg, Molenberg, Rekelberg , Berendries and Valkenberg before the three finishing laps.

This year’s Tour of Flanders was won by Nick Nuyens (Saxo Bank-Sungard).

In recent years, only superficial changes had been made to the race route. With this important shift, next year’s race is sure to have a different complexion.

Related links

Nick Nuyens wins 2011 Tour of Flanders