Alberto Contador back in Giro d'Italia lead after crucial time trial

Vasil Kiryienka wins the 2015 Giro d'Italia time trial stage as Sky leader Richie Porte loses further time to his rivals. Photos by Graham Watson

Alberto Contador on stage fourteen of the 2015 Tour of Italy

(Image credit: Watson)

Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) regained the overall race lead from overnight leader Fabio Aru (Astana) after a blistering performance in the individual time trial stage of the 2015 Giro d'Italia on Saturday.

Vasil Kiryienka (Sky) won the stage on a bittersweet day for Sky, as team leader Richie Porte lost all hope of contending for a podium placing after losing over four minutes to Contador.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.