Julian Alaphilippe wins best rider of the year at Velo d'Or 2019

The Frenchman won a number of Classics this year as well as lighting up the Tour de France

Julian Alaphilippe at the 2020 Tour de France route presentation (Alain Jocard/AFP via Getty Images)

(Image credit: AFP via Getty Images)

Julian Alaphilippe has been crowned the rider of the year at the Velo d'Or 2019.

The Deceuninck - Quick-Step rider won Milan - San Remo, Flèche Wallonne and Strade Bianche in 2019, as well as winning two Tour de France stages and the combativity award after two weeks in yellow, having mounted a serious yet surprising challenge to the overall classification.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.