Matt Bottrill breaks course record in Nev Crane time trial

Matt Bottrill, second, National 10-mile time trial 2013

2012 National 100-mile champion Matt Bottrill ( chose not to defend his crown in this year's race, but while others were battling to be the next champ, Bottrill was busy breaking course records elsewhere.

He rode the Sleaford Wheelers' Nev Crane Memorial near Donington in Lincolnshire, where he won by around three and a half minutes and slashed more than a minute off his own course record for the C25/35.

Bottrill clocked 50-04 to knock 1-13 from his old mark, and that time was good enough for victory on the day by 3-01, with Lee Tunnicliffe (High Wycombe CC) second and Julian Ramsbottom (Team Swift) third, another 23 seconds adrift.

While many were riding the National 100, there were other events over the same distance which attracted some fast riders.

Grigor Wallace (Team Midland Racing) won the East District CA 100 at Besthorpe in Norfolk, where his time of 3-33-32 was good enough for the win by 48 seconds from Team Swift's Joal Wainman, while King's Lynn CC's Daniel Bloy took third, a further 1-44 slower.

Yorkshireman Wainman had travelled out of his home patch to ride the B100/4 course in Norfolk, despite there also being a 100-mile event closer to home, promoted by Yorkshire CF at Thirsk, North Yorkshire.

That event was won by Team Swift's Andy Jackson with 3-44-05, while Paul Evans (Scunthorpe Poly CC) was second, 6-47 slower. High Wycombe CC's Adam Topham had looked set for victory and was around two minutes ahead at the half-way stage, but he packed after about 80 miles.

Just two seconds separated Nick English (AW Cycles) and James Gilfillan (Velo Refined Aerosmiths) in the Farnham Road Club 25 at Bentley in Hampshire, with English clocking 50-03 to take the win from Gilfillan.

Elsewhere, Jon Wynn (Northovers VT) proved quickest in the Ross on Wye 25 on the R25/7 Usk to Monmouth course, clocking 50-17, and in the Nova CC 25 at Goostrey in Cheshire, Darren Maironis (Withington Wheelers) won y just one second with 54-12.

Sheffrec CC staged a hotly-contested 23.5-mile event at Brampton near Chesterfield, which was won by University of Sheffield CC rider Andy Nichols.

The 23-year-old clocked 45-25 to take the win by 1-15 from veteran Chris Myhill (Peak RC), while Langsett Cycles' Danny Lowthorpe took third, another 19 seconds slower.

Richard Simmonds (unattached) and Seb Ader (a3crg) tied for first place in the Richmond Park TT in London on Sunday, both clocking 23-16 which left Robert Moore (London Phoenix) third, 29 seconds slower.

Tim Smith (Welland Valley CC) won the Northampton and District CA 10 at Husbands Bosworth, his time of 22-17 being just three seconds faster than runner-up Scott Walker (MG Décor).

And in Lincolnshire, the Lincoln Wheelers charity 10 was cut to six miles because of roadworks, but the event still went ahead of Patrick Gould (Matlock CC) won with 13-22, 32 seconds quicker than Chris Myhill (Peak RC).

Related links

Mark Holton and Paula Moseley take National 100 time trial titles

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1