Armstrong defends Olympic title in women's time trial

Kristin Armstrong, gold, London 2012 Olympic Games, women's time trial

American Kristin Armstrong (USA) successfully defended her Olympic time trial title on Wednesday, winning the women's event in Hampton Court.

Armstrong beat German Judith Arndt by 15 seconds on the 29km course, with road race bronze medallist Olga Zabelinskaya (Russia) grabbing another medal in third.

Great Britain's Emma Pooley finished in sixth place, over a minute down on Armstrong. She was visibly upset at the finish having not won a medal after clinching silver in 2008.

Road race silver medallist Lizzie Armitstead (Great Britain) finished in 10th spot.

Re-read our live text coverage of the women's time trial>>


London 2012 Olympic Games: Women's time trial, 29km

1. Kristin Armstrong (USA) in 37-34

2. Judith Arndt (Germany) at 16 secs

3. Olga Zabelinskaya (Russia) at 23 secs

4. Linda Villumsen (New Zealand) at 24 secs

5. Clara Hughes (Canada) at 54 secs

6. Emma Pooley (Great Britain) at 1-03

7. Amber Neben (USA) at 1-10

8. Ellen Van Dijk (Netherlands) at 1-19

9. Trixi Worrack (Germany) at 1-46

10. Lizzie Armitstead (Great Britain) at 1-52

Emma Pooley

Lizzie Armitstead

Olga Zabelinskaya

Judith Arndt

Kristin Armstrong

Armstrong catches road race winner Marianne Vos

Arndt, Armstrong and Zabelinskaya

London 2012: Live text coverage of cycling events

August 1: Men's and women's time trials

July 28: Men's road race

July 29: Women's road race

London 2012: Latest news

Wiggins: Tour was perfect Olympic TT preparation

Olympic time trial round-up

Pendleton warms up for London 2012

Cancellara in, Evans out of time trial

CW eyewitness: Remember the name

Cavendish finds solace in commitment of his team mates

The scene at Box Hill

Tickets for Box Hill? You may need another...

Bradley Wiggins' UKSI Olympic bike

Hoy helicoptered in for opening ceremony

Box Hill closed after local riders give security the slip

Boonen and Gilbert train on Box Hill Olympic circuit

Goss fresh for Olympic Games assault

Trott on top: London 2012

Hoy to be GB flag bearer at London 2012 opening ceremony

Millar: I think about Olympics all the time

Cavendish recognises advantage in missed Tour chances ahead of Olympics

Kenny not Hoy selected for London 2012 sprint

German and French Olympic teams sneak in fourth sprinter

Cavendish: GB's best bet for Olympic gold

London 2012: Team info

Men's road race start list

Women's road race start list

Men's time trial start list

Women's time trial start list

Team GB rider profiles

Great Britain track team confirmed

Bronzini leads Italian Olympic cycling team

British Olympic men's road race team announced

Armitstead and Cooke lead GB women's road cycling team

London 2012: Event guides

Olympic Games men's time trial: Who will win?

Olympic Games women's time trial: Who will win?

Olympic time trial routes announced

Olympic Games women's road race: Who will win?

Olympic Games men's road race: Who will win?

Download detailed Olympic road race route map

London 2012 cycling schedule

London 2012: Reports

Cycling events medal table

Women's road race: Armitstead wins silver as Vos strikes gold

Men's road race: Vinokourov wins as Cavendish misses out

London 2012: Photos

Pendleton track training

Women's road race by Andy Jones

Women's road race by Graham Watson

Men's road race by Andy Jones

Men's road race by Phil O'Connor

Men's road race by Graham Watson

Team GB road race training on Box Hill (July 26)

London 2012: Podcasts

Cycling Weekly podcasts on Soundcloud

London 2012: TV schedule

London 2012 BBC TV cycling coverage schedule

London 2012 Eurosport cycling coverage schedule


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1