Team Sky's 2017 riders

We take a look at Team Sky's line-up of riders for the 2017 season

(Image credit: Graham Watson)

With the announcement last week that Jon Dibben is joining Team Sky from Team Wiggins for the 2017 season, the British WorldTour squad appears to now be fully formed for next year.

Although an official announcement of the full 2017 Team Sky roster has yet to be made, the 29-man team looks like it has been settled.

Joining Dibben among the new recruits are British riders Owain Doull (from Team Wiggins), Tao Geoghegan Hart (Axeon Hagens Berman), Frenchman Kenny Elisonde (FDJ), Italian Diego Rosa (Astana) and Pole Lukasz Wisniowski (Etixx-QuickStep).

Six riders have departed from the team for 2017: Andy Fenn (to Aqua Blue), Leopold König (Bora-Hansgrohe), Lars Petter Nordaug (Aqua Blue), Nicolas Roche (BMC Racing), Ben Swift (TJ Sport) and Xabier Zandio (retired).

The big performers of the team remain largely unchanged from 2016, however, with Tour de France champion Chris Froome heading up the team's Grand Tour hopes. Wout Poels, Geraint Thomas, Ian Stannard, Luke Rowe, Elia Viviani and Mikel Landa are all still present and correct.

There is still a question mark over the retention of Italian Salvatore Puccio, but it is understood that he has extended his contract with the team, though this has yet to be officially confirmed.

The squad took a host of victories during 2016, their seventh year of competition. Along with Froome's third Tour de France title, the team notably took its first Monument win with Poels's victory in Liège-Bastogne-Liège. Froome also won the Critérium du Dauphiné and Herald Sun Tour, with Thomas victorious in Paris-Nice and Volta ao Algarve.

Landa may have misfired in the Giro d'Italia due to illness, but won the Giro del Trentino. Michal Kwiatkowski signed for the team for 2016, and delivered victory in E3 Harelbeke.

In total, the team took 39 victories in 2016 and finished in third spot behind Movistar and Tinkoff in the UCI's WorldTour team ranking.

Froome will be looking for a fourth Tour victory in July, with Landa slated to lead the squad in the 2017 Giro in May and the team will no doubt be continuing to seek that elusive major cobbled classic win in the spring.

>>> 100 Best Road Riders of 2016

Team Sky 2017 roster

Ian Boswell (USA)

Philip Deignan (Ireland)

Jon Dibben (Great Britain) - from Team Wiggins

Owain Doull (Great Britain) - from Team Wiggins

Kenny Elisonde (France) - from FDJ

Chris Froome (Great Britain)

Tao Geoghegan Hart (Great Britain) - from Axeon Hagens Berman

Michal Golas (Poland)

Sergio Henao (Colombia)

Sebastian Henao (Colombia)

Beñat Intxausti (Spain)

Peter Kennaugh (Great Britain)

Vasil Kiryienka (Belarus)

Christian Knees (Germany)

Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland)

Mikel Landa (Spain)

David Lopez (Spain)

Gianni Moscon (Italy)

Mikel Nieve (Spain)

Alex Peters (Great Britain)

Wout Poels (Netherlands)

Salvatore Puccio (Italy)

Diego Rosa (Italy) - from Astana

Luke Rowe (Great Britain)

Ian Stannard (Great Britain)

Geraint Thomas (Great Britain)

Danny van Poppel (Netherlands)

Elia Viviani (Italy)

Lukasz Wisniowski (Poland) - from Etixx-QuickStep

By nationality

Great Britain: 9

Italy: 4

Spain: 4

Poland: 3

Colombia: 2

Netherlands: 2

Belarus: 1

France: 1

Germany: 1

Ireland: 1

USA: 1

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1