Tour de France standings: the classifications for 2021 race

All the build-up for the battles for the yellow, green, white and polka-dot jerseys at the 2021 race around France

(Image credit: AFP via Getty Images)

The Tour de France is the most prestigious race in the cycling calendar and is known around the world even with non-cycling fans.

Some of the world's best riders have set their sights on specific objectives at the race with riders focussing on the overall title with dreams of the yellow jersey in Paris, but there are three other jerseys as well as two other competitions besides and good placings in the overall standings.

The likely podium riders in this year's race are the first and second places of last year with Slovenian stars Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) and Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) as well as 2018 winner Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers).

The sprinters, who have no chance of getting near the top places at the end in the fight for yellow have their sights on stage wins and the green points jersey. 

The record amount of wins in the points classification is Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) who has won the jersey seven times. Irish rider Sam Bennett (Deceuninck - Quick-Step) is the defending champion.

The polka-dot jersey is a white jersey with red polka-dots on it and it denotes the leader in the mountains classification. This is usually for riders who are exceptional climbers but are not involved in the overall standings, although last year's winner won the race overall too in the shape of Pogačar.

The white jersey is for riders under the age of 25, however this jersey has become somewhat obsolete in the last two editions of the race with both 2019 winner Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers) and 2020 winner Pogačar qualified for that jersey.

We will update this page with full standings after the opening stage of the Tour de France which takes place July 26 with a 197.8km stage between Brest and Landerneau with a few uphill kicks in the close kilometres meaning it may not be a sprint finish.

Tour de France classifications brief explanation

The Tour de France has six classifications where just four give out a leaders jersey. The leader of the overall standings and eventual winner of the race wears the yellow jersey.

The rider who leads the points standings will wear the green jersey, this is often a sprinter with Irishman Sam Bennett taking the jersey in 2020.

In the mountains, the rider who collects the most points over the various categorised climbs gets to wear the white jersey with red polka-dots.

And finally, the white jersey denotes the leader of the best young rider. This has been won by the winner of the overall standings in the last two editions of the race.

The other two classifications are the best team's standings. This takes into account the first three riders across the line from each team and puts their times together. It is often won by Movistar Team.

The last classification is awarded daily by a jury. This is the combativity prize. A rider will be awarded a red number that he wears on the following stage after showing outstanding combative nature either in a break or in an unseen part of the race.

As well as that, the rider who has performed the best in the breaks throughout the race will win the Super-Combativity award, also awarded by a jury.

For more in-depth information on all the standings in the race go and have a look at out jerseys explained page.