Tour de France 2022: Christophe Laporte wins thrilling finish on Stage 19 into Cahors

Frenchman catches remnants of the breakaway within metres of the finishing line to secure first French victory of the race

Christophe Laporte
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Christophe Laporte (Jumbo-Visma) won a thrilling finish to stage 19 of the Tour de France.

Before the stage began, the race had still been without a French victory. Although Laporte would ensure that the French would leave their mark on the action this year. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Tom joined Cycling Weekly in early 2022 and his news stories, rider interviews and features appear both online and in the magazine. 

He has reported from some of professional cycling's biggest races and events including the Tour de France and the recent Glasgow World Championships. He has also covered races elsewhere across the world and interviewed some of the sport's top riders. 

When not writing news scoops from the WorldTour, or covering stories from elsewhere in the domestic professional scene, he reports on goings on at bike shops up and down the UK, where he is based when not out on the road at races. He has also appeared on the Radio Cycling podcast.