Santiago Buitrago executes powerful attack on final climb to win stage 17 of the Giro d'Italia

The Colombian powered past Mathieu van der Poel and Gijs Leemreize to win the first Grand Tour stage of his career

Santiago Buitrago Giro d'Italia
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain-Victorious) secured his first-ever Grand Tour victory on stage 17 of the Giro d'Italia, the young Colombian soloing to victory after powering past Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) and Gijs Leemreize (Jumbo-Visma) on the final climb.

Buitrago timed his attack perfectly, despite it looking like both Van der Poel and Leemreize would win the stage on the climb up Monterovere. Van der Poel initially attacked from the breakaway group during the descent of the Passo del Vetriolo with compatriot Gijs Leemreize (Jumbo-Visma), and then went again on the final ascent. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Staff Writer

Ryan is a staff writer for Cycling Weekly, having joined the team in September 2021. He first joined Future in December 2020, working across FourFourTwo, Golf Monthly, Rugby World and Advnture's websites, before making his way to cycling. After graduating from Cardiff University with a degree in Journalism and Communications, Ryan earned a NCTJ qualification to further develop as a writer.