Bradley Wiggins has won the 2012 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award. Wiggins won the public vote taken during a live broadcast of the ceremony on Sunday evening from the London Excel centre.

Heptathlete Jessica Ennis came second with Tennis star Andy Murray placing third. The BBC reported that over 1.6 million votes were taken during the show, with Wiggins taking 30.25 per cent of the votes.

Wiggins was the bookmakers’ favourite to win the award prior to Sunday night having become the first Briton to win the Tour de France, and for securing Olympic gold in the time trial event in London. He also won Paris-Nice, the Tour of Romandy and Criterium du Dauphine in an unprecedented run of success that was unmatched in any sport this year.

Cyclists have won the award on three previous occasions. Tom Simpson was the first in 1965 after winning the world road race title. There was then a gap of over four decades before Sir Chris Hoy won the award in 2008 after the Beijing Olympics, then Mark Cavendish took the award in 2011 after winning the world road race title and Tour de France green jersey.

British Cycling performance director and Sky team principal David Brailsford won the 2012 Coach of the Year award for his part in the success of GB cyclists at the Olympics and Sky at the Tour de France. It’s the second time that Brailsford has received the award, he also won it in 2008 after the Beijing Olympic Games.

As last year’s winner Cavendish brought the SPOTY trophy into the Excel arena to kick off the evening’s ceremony.

Wiggins, decked out in navy velvet suit, was then the first of the 12 nominees to be introduced during the programme. Wiggins gave a typically nerve-wracking interview with presenter Sue Barker during which he made the point that every athlete’s success is based on having the back-up of a solid team. He named the make-up team of presenter Gary Lineker as a cheeky example.

“What a year, to stand on this stage with the people next to me is incredible,” said Wiggins as he received the iconic SPOTY trophy.

“I’d like to thank my team-mates, I wouldn’t be on this stage without them. I’d like to thank David Brailsford, the coaches, British Cycling, Team Sky and all the Olympians.” He went on to thank his gran for pressing redial to ensure that he won the award.

The Great Britain Olympic and Paralympic teams won the Team of the Year award, with former Olympic runner and chairman of the London Organising Committee of the Olympic Games Lord Sebastian Coe bestowed with the Lifetime Achievement award, the latter presented by the Duchess of Cambridge.

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012: The winners
Sports Personality of the Year: Bradley Wiggins
Coach of the Year: David Brailsford
Overseas Sports Personality of the Year: Usain Bolt
Young Sports Personality of the Year: Josef Craig
Helen Rollason Award: Martine Wright
Unsung heroes: Sue and Jim Houghton
Team of the Year award: Great Britain Olympic and Paralympic teams
Lifetime Achievement award: Sebastian Coe

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012: Voting split
1. Bradley Wiggins 492,064 (30.25%)
2. Jessica Ennis 372,765 (22.92%)
3. Andy Murray 230,444 (14.17%)
4. Mo Farah 131,327 (8.07%)
5. David Weir 114,633 (7.05%)
6. Ellie Simmonds 102,894 (6.33%)
7. Sir Chris Hoy 42,961 (2.64%)
8. Nicola Adams 35,560 (2.19%)
9. Ben Ainslie 35,373 (2.17%)
10. Rory McIlroy 29,729 (1.83%)
11. Katherine Grainger 28,626 (1.76%)
12. Sarah Storey 10,342 (0.64%)
Total votes: 1,626,718

Cyclists who have previously won BBC Sports Personality
2011 Mark Cavendish
2008 Chris Hoy
1965 Tom Simpson

Sarah Storey (left) talks to Sue Barker

Bradley Wiggins and Jessica Ennis

Bradley Wiggins with David Beckham (left) and the Duchess of Cambridge (right)

Bradley Wiggins holds his award aloft

Related links
Why Bradley Wiggins should win Sports Personality
Help Wiggins win by a landslide
Bradley Wiggins heads BBC Sports Personality shortlist

  • William Hirst

    Jess Ennis looks so hot.

  • Howard Ashenden

    What a great way to end a great year for cycling. Thank you Brad and thank you Sky.

  • jimmy the fish (aka s j stanton)

    Fix a) biased list to start with i.e Dan Lydiate star of Wales Grand Slam not there If you think this is a bit spurious take note that unlike other ‘professional’ athletes, he spends part of the week working on the family farm and that this marked a career high-point after a life-threatening spinal injury in a game at Perpignan five years ago Just the kind of example the BBC should be promoting b) the couple next door to me gave up trying to get through to vote for Nicola Adams as the line was engaged; make what you want of that. and good luck to Wiggo anyway, he’s certainly touched the right note with schoolkids.

  • JD

    If anything, we underestimate the quality of Wiggins’ achievement – that list of racing wins is positively Merckx-like.

    Never thought I’d see the like.

  • jimster

    Well done Brad, brilliant achievment!!! Nice whistle……. Was that an Epiphone you’re playing?

  • Mike O’Hanlon

    What a great night!! I’m particularly impressed to note that the shortlist of 12 included 3 cyclists, is this a sign of the times?

    Congratulations to Wiggo, not only did he win, but he actually looked like a mod!

  • Doc, 1st Chard Wheelers

    A great finish to a great year for British Cycling! This was in no short measure due to the inspirational leadership of Dave Brailsford and his team. Wiggo’s performances and those of his team mates speak for themselves and are unlikely ever to be surpassed. As a time triallist myself I was lucky to be at the start line at Hampton Court Palace for the Olympic Time Trials cheering Wiggo on. The atmosphere and noise was astonishing and in the race Wiggo didn’t disappoint. Neither did Chris Froome. The only disappointment for me was not finding where the prawn sandwiches were, Wiggo!

  • Pelican Cycles, Chesterfield

    An amazing night for cycling! Deserved awards to both Brad & Dave Brailsford, but congrats to all involved at British Cycling/Team Sky. Win the Tour within five years?? Who’s laughing now!
    Huge congratulations.