Drama on final night of Track Champions League as Richardson just pips Lavreysen

There were three British wins in London, but Katie Archibald was unable to overturn Jennifer Valente's lead in the endurance competition

Matthew Rihardson wins at the Track Champions League
(Image credit: Alex Broadway/SWpix)

Matthew Richardson spectacularly pipped Harrie Lavreysen on the line to win the men's sprint competition on the final night of the 2022 UCI Track Champions League in London that saw four different classification winners.

Just a day after moving to the top of the standings for the first time in the five-round event, Australian Richardson looked to have missed his opportunity to seal overall victory when the Dutchman Lavreysen edged him out in the sprint race.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1