Alex Dowsett slices 25 seconds off previous 10-mile time trial record

British time trial round-up (May 31-June 1): News and results from around the UK

Alex Dowsett on stage three of the 2014 Circuit de la Sarthe

(Image credit: Etienne Garnier)

Alex Dowsett powered his way to a new 10-mile national competition record in Cambridgeshire on Saturday, winning the Eastern Counties CA event on the E2/10 in 17-20.

The Movistar ace slashed 25 seconds off Michael Hutchinson’s previous record from 2012 – the biggest amount anyone has knocked off the old mark for 33 years.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Snowdon Sports is a long-established independent sports news agency, which supplies editorial to a range of media outlets - such as Cycling Weekly - as well as sports governing bodies. Snowdon Sports often covers results at Cycling Time Trials events in the UK and has long been a source of information and imagery to Cycling Weekly.