clancy podium Soens 2009

Ed Clancy (Halfords Bikehut) won the 48th edition of the Eddie Soen's Memorial Cycle Race today at the famous Aintree National Hunt racecourse in Liverpool.

Tim Kennaugh (Team Isle of Man) and Simon Yates (Sportcity Velo) dictated the early action when the pair attempted to make a strong challenge to stay away with their handicap start advantage. However, they were swallowed up by the chasing elite group before half distance of the 30 lap race.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1