Pendleton picks up ninth consecutive sprint title

British National Track Championships 2010 logo

British national track champs 2010 photo gallery by Andy Jones>>

Victoria Pendleton claimed her ninth successive national title in the women's sprint on Thursday evening in Manchester.

Two days after winning the 500m time-trial, the Olympic and world champion dispatched teenage rival and European U23 sprint champion Becky James 2-0 in the gold medal ride-off.

Having opted out of the Commonwealth Games two months ago, Pendleton is using the nationals as preparation for the European Championships in November, which carry Olympic qualifying points.

Fellow GB rider Jess Varnish took the bronze, beating Vicki Williamson.

In the women's individual pursuit, Olympic silver medallist Wendy Houvenaghel qualified eight seconds faster than closest challenger Sarah Storey and comfortably dispatched her rival in the final, clocking 3-30-612 after a late pass.

It is the fastest time ever recorded over the distance at the national championships, which bodes well for the Northern Irish woman's forthcoming individual pursuit challenge in New Delhi.

World junior omnium champion Laura Trott took the bronze medal, seeing off GB endurance rider Anna Blyth.

Academy rider George Atkins was the last-gasp winner of a gruelling men's points race, taking victory by winning the final sprint against Simon Yates (Maxgear RT).

Though tied on 44 points, his superior finish clinched the title. It was a second silver for world junior madison champion Yates, following Tuesday night's scratch race result, but a maiden senior title can't be far off for the precocious 18-year-old.

Mark Christian finished third, ahead of Academy teammate Chris Whorrall.

Bruce Croall (City of Edinburgh RC) won the men's kilometre time-trial, just dipping under 65 seconds. Andrew Kelly and Ieuan Williams were second and third.

The Paracycling flying 200m time-trial saw world records fall to race winner Jon Butterworth and Jody Cundy in the C5 and C4 categories.

Pendleton shakes hands with her fellow competitor

Pendleton shakes hands after another heat win

Related links

National track champs gallery by Andy Jones

National track champs, day two: Kennaugh takes scratch raceNational track champs, day one: Pendleton wins 25th national title with 500m successNational track champs 2010 resultsNational track champs: the winners since 1995

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1