Tony Gallopin takes dramatic stage win at Paris-Nice

Crashes for Richie Porte and Geraint Thomas prove costly on a frenetic day's racing

Tony Gallopin takes overall lead of the 2015 Paris-Nice after winning stage six (Watson)

(Image credit: Watson)

Tony Gallopin (Lotto-Soudal) won the stage and moved into the overall lead in a thrilling penultimate day’s racing at Paris-Nice.

The Frenchman attacked the lead group on the lower slopes of the final climb, Cote de Peille. He rode alone for over 30km to win the stage 32 seconds ahead of a chasing group containing Simon Spilak (Katusha), Rui Costa (Lampre-Merida), Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) and Rafa Valls (Lampre-Merida), who finished second, third, fourth and fifth respectively.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen Puddicombe is a freelance journalist for Cycling Weekly, who regularly contributes to our World Tour racing coverage with race reports, news stories, interviews and features. Outside of cycling, he also enjoys writing about film and TV - but you won't find much of that content embedded into his CW articles.