Chloe Hosking wins the Madrid Challenge sprint while Brennauer takes the overall

Brennauer plays the bonus sprints perfectly, holding off a challenge from Lucinda Brand

(Image credit: Getty Images)

After a challenging year, Chloe Hosking took her first WorldTour win of 2019 on Sunday, winning the second stage of the Madrid Challenge.

The Australian was almost surprised as she crossed the line with a decent gap at the end of her powerful sprint, just ahead of Letizia Paternoster (Trek-Segafredo), with Roxane Fournier (Movistar) in third.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.