Fausto Masnada wins stage three as Pavel Sivakov retains GC lead in Tour of the Alps 2019

Team Sky fought off Nibali and Majka's attempts to shake things up in the GC battle

Fausto Masanda wins stage three of the 2019 Tour of the Alps (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Fausto Masnada (Androni Giocattoli–Sidermec) sprung from the leading group of favourites to snatch victory on stage three of the Tour of the Alps.

Attacking with just over 1km remaining, Masnada escaped on the flat after the final climb of the day as Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) and Rafał Majka (Bora-Hansgrohe) tested Pavel Sivakov's (Team Sky) grip on the leader's jersey.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1