Nairo Quintana moves into pink jersey as Tom Dumoulin dropped in dramatic Giro d'Italia stage

Mikel Landa wins stage as Quintana takes pink by 38 seconds

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) moved into the pink jersey as Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) was dropped early on the final climb on stage 19 of the Giro d'Italia, with Mikel Landa (Team Sky) winning the stage.

There had been drama earlier in the day as Dumoulin was caught on the wrong side of a split in the peloton in the first 60km, but when that had been neutralised it was clear that it was all going to come down to the final climb to Piancavallo.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1