Giro Rosa 2020: Elisa Longo Borghini takes two-up sprint on stage eight

Anna van der Breggen moves into the overall lead after coming second on the stage

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Elisa Longo Borghini won a two woman sprint to take her first road stage win of this year’s Giro Rosa. The Italian had broken clear with Anna van der Breggen (Boels-Dolmans) at the foot of the final, vicious climb and out sprinted the Dutch champion to win by a length.

After an incredible performance all race, New Zealander Mikayla Harvey (Equipe Paule Ka) came in in third place, consolidating her place in the top five overall and her lead in the young rider competition.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1