Marcel Kittel recovers from late crash to win penultimate Three Days of De Panne stage

German sprinter hit the deck with just 15km remaining

Marcel Kittel at the 2017 Abu Dhabi Tour
(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Marcel Kittel (Quick-Step Floors) took an impressive victory in stage 3a of the Three Days of De Panne after crashing with 15km remaining.

The German sprinter had finished fourth behind Alexander Kristoff (Katusha-Alpecin) on yesterday's stage, but was able to beat the Norwegian rider today, having his team-mates to thank for a hard chase to regain contact with the front group he was caught up in a late crash.

>>> Wet cobbles possible at Tour of Flanders with rain forecast in coming days

That crash was one of a number that caused chaos in the peloton in the final 20km of the race, as riders found themselves having to bunny hop over tramlines running along the road.

With Kittel having hit the deck, it was up to Katusha-Alpecin to drive the pace on the front of the peloton as they aimed to help Kristoff repeat yesterday's win.

Watch: Tour of Flanders essential guide

Their injection of pace meant the five-strong break was finally caught with 2.5km remaining, but by that point Kittel had been able to regain contact with the main group thanks to hard work from his team-mates.

Despite some narrow roads in the final few kilometres, Kittel was able to find his way to the front of the peloton, positioning himself just off the wheel of Kristoff, before coming around his rival to win by more than a bike length.

>>> How to ride on cobbles (video)

The Three Days of De Panne concludes this afternoon with a 14.2km individual time trial.

Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) currently holds a commanding 50 second lead in the general classification over Matthias Brändle (Trek-Segafredo).


Three Days of De Panne 2017, stage 3a: De Panne - De Panne (118.5km)

1. Marcel Kittel (Ger) Quick-Step Floors, in 2-37-29

2. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha-Alpecin

3. Sacha Modolo (Ita) Team UAE Emirates

4. Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe

5. Edward Theuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo

6. Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe

7. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal

8. Luka Mezgec (Slo) Orica-Scott

9. Jelle Mannaerts (Bel) Tarteletto-Isorex

10. Jonas Rickaert (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise, all at same time

General classification after stage 3a

1. Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors, in 11-51-02

2. Matthias Brändle (Aut) Trek-Segafredo, at 50 secs

3. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha-Alpecin, at 58 secs

4. Edward Theuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo, at 1-06

5. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Direct Energie, at 1-15

6. Pim Ligthart (Ned) Roompot–Nederlandse Loterij, at 1-15

7. Maxime Vantomme (Bel) WB Veranclassic Aqua Protect, at 1-17

8. Pierre-Luc Perichon (Fra) Fortuneo-Vital Concept, at 1-17

9. Boy van Poppel (Ned) Trek-Segafredo, at 1-22

10. Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Lotto-Soudal, at 2-20

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.