Marianne Vos wins an aggressive, dramatic Amstel Gold Race in a close sprint

Vos wins after a leading duo were caught with 300m to go after being unable to work together

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Marianne Vos finally added the Amstel Gold Race to her palmarès after a hugely aggressive edition of the Dutch one-day Classic.

The former world champion sprinted from a small group which caught two leaders in the closing 300m after Elisa Longo Borghini refused to work with defending champion Kasia Niewiadoma.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Owen Rogers is an experienced journalist, covering professional cycling and specialising in women's road racing. He has followed races such as the Women's Tour and Giro d'Italia Donne, live-tweeting from Women's WorldTour events as well as providing race reports, interviews, analysis and news stories. He has also worked for race teams, to provide post race reports and communications.