Australia names London 2012 Olympic track cycling squad

2012 world track championships, anna meares

Anna Meares and Jack Bobridge head up Australia's track team for the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The distinctly youthful 14-rider squad was announced on Friday morning, and holds no major surprises. Of the 14 riders, only Bobridge and Meares have previous Olympic experience.

Sprint specialist and triple Olympic medallist Meares will be back in action in the sprint, keirin and team sprint events. Meares (28) will be partnered by Kaarle McCulloch (24) in the team sprint and will race against Britain's Victoria Pendleton and Jess Varnish.

Bobridge heads up Australia's assault on the team pursuit discipline. The young Aussie pursuiters caused an upset during the February Track World Cup in London when they came away with gold. Great Britain got the better of them in the Melbourne World Championship, setting up a tantalising fight for gold in the Games.

Team pursuiters Bobridge (22), Rohan Dennis (21), Michael Hepburn (20), Alex Edmondson (18) and Glenn O'Shea (23) have already been dubbed 'the boyband' by their fans. O'Shea will also represent Australia in the omnium event, where he will come up against Britain's Ed Clancy.

Team sprint world champions Matthew Glaetzer (19), Shane Perkins (25) and Scott Sunderland (24) will be looking to add the Olympic title to their newly-appointed world crown.

Alex Edmondson's sister Annette joins Amy Cure (19), Melissa Hoskins (21) and Josie Tomic (22) in the women's team pursuit selection. Annette Edmondson also rides in the women's omnium.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1