Philippe Gilbert wins Paris-Roubaix 2019 in velodrome sprint finish

The former world champion wins his fourth different Monument

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) won Paris-Roubaix 2019 after a two-up sprint finish inside the Roubaix velodrome against Nils Politt (Katusha-Alpecin).

The Belgian has now won four different Monuments, five in total, adding Paris-Roubaix to Tour of Flanders, Il Lombardia and Liège-Bastogne-Liège.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.