Richie Porte seals Tour Down Under title as Brit Matthew Holmes takes stage six win

The Tasmanian attacked on Willunga Hill with only WorldTour debutant Holmes able to stay with him

Richie Porte wins the Tour Down Under 2020 (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Richie Porte sealed his second overall victory at the Tour Down Under with a dazzling attack up Willunga Hill to bring the race back together and cross the line ahead of all his GC opponents.

No-one could stay with the Tasmanian as he sprinted out of the saddle up the climb, breakaways fracturing ahead and slipping back to the main field. Apart from Brit Matthew Holmes that is, who had been part of an earlier move.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1