Vincenzo Nibali delivers spectacular solo victory at Il Lombardia to delight home crowd

Italian rider goes solo on penultimate descent to claim victory

Vincenzo Nibali takes the 50th win of his pro career at Il Lombardia

(Image credit: Yuzuru Sunada)

Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) delivered a home victory for the Italian crowd at Il Lombardia as he attacked on the penultimate climb of the day to take a solo win in Como.

Nibali had bridged across to a move by Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) on the climb to Civiglo, before distancing his French rival on the descent and consolidating his lead on the run in to the final climb.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Henry Robertshaw began his time at Cycling Weekly working with the tech team, writing reviews, buying guides and appearing in videos advising on how to dress for the seasons. He later moved over to the news team, where his work focused on the professional peloton as well as legislation and provision for cycling. He's since moved his career in a new direction, with a role at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.