Il Lombardia

Where: Lombardy, Italy
When: October 12, 2019
Rank: UCI WorldTour

Il Lombardia – previously known as the Tour of Lombardy or Giro di Lombardia – is the final Monument of the five in the cycling season and is traditionally the last major outing for the peloton before they take their off-season break. In 2019, it takes place on October 12.

Running since 1905, it is the Classic with fewest interruptions in its lifetime, with only the 1943 and 1944 editions having to be scrapped because of the war, meaning the ‘race of the falling leaves’, which takes place in the Lombardy region of Italy, is now in its 113th edition in 2019.

The race will likely be broadcast on Eurosport. Alternatively, you can catch it on fuboTV – there’s a free trial and you can connect on any device. 

The impressive roll call of winners includes the likes of Fausto Coppi, Eddy Merckx, Tom Simpson and Sean Kelly. Italian Coppi holds the record number of victories, having taken five during his career.

Since the Worlds were moved from summer to autumn in 1995, Lombardy is more often than not the first place the new road race world champion gets to show off his rainbow jersey for the first time.

Key info: TV guide | Start list