Alessandro De Marchi takes solo win on stage 11 of the Vuelta a España 2018 as Yates holds lead

Yates stays in red on fast and frantic day n the Vuelta

Alessandro De Marchi wins stage 11 of the 2018 Vuelta a España (Sunada)

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Alessandro De Marchi (BMC Racing) took victory on stage 11 of the Vuelta a España, attacking from the day's main break to eventually win solo.

De Marchi had gone clear on the final classified climb of the day with Jhonatan Restrepo (Katusha-Alpecin), but was able to drop the Colombian on an unclassified ascent with around 4.3km to go.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Richard Windsor

Follow on Twitter: @richwindy

Richard is digital editor of Cycling Weekly. Joining the team in 2013, Richard became editor of the website in 2014 and coordinates site content and strategy, leading the news team in coverage of the world's biggest races and working with the tech editor to deliver comprehensive buying guides, reviews, and the latest product news.

An occasional racer, Richard spends most of his time preparing for long-distance touring rides these days, or getting out to the Surrey Hills on the weekend on his Specialized Tarmac SL6 (with an obligatory pub stop of course).