Final gold for Great Britain in team pursuit

manchester track world cup 2011, chris hoy, keirin, victoria pendleton, team sprint, team pursuit

Britain's team pursuit quartet won gold in dominant fashion to finish off the weekend's world cup action today.

The Olympic champions and world record holders followed the script perfectly, winning by a comfortable margin of almost four seconds from the New Zealand team in the gold medal final. Their victory was never in doubt - the Clancy, Wiggins, Thomas, Burke combination was, in the absence of a strong Australian team, clearly the strongest in the competition.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.