Bauge crowned world champion in men's individual sprint

Track Worlds report logo 2009

Frenchman Gregory Bauge clinched an entertaining men's individual sprint final on Sunday to close the 2009 track world championships in style.

Although Bauge came away with gold, it was silver medallist Azizulhasni Awang of Malaysia that proved to be the revelation of the weekend.

The two riders had fought hard against each other throughout the competition. Awang had earlier caused an upset in the French camp when he got the better of Bauge, forcing him to come through the repechage round.

Then, when the two riders met again in the final, they both won one round apiece before the final decider. In the end, Bauge's strength and experience came through and he pipped the Malaysian.

Awang is very slight for a track sprinter, weighing in at only 65 kilos. Next to the bulky Bauge, Awang looked half his size.

Bauge's compatriot Kevin Sireau got the better of Shane Perkins (Australia) in the third/fourth place decider to take bronze.

Earlier Awang had dismissed Britain's Ross Edgar in the quarter-finals with a trade-mark wheelie across the finishing line, effectively ending Britain's hopes for a medal in the discipline. Bauge was responsible for removing Kenny from the finals.

Britain's Kenny, Matt Crampton and Edgar finished fifth, sixth and eighth respectively. Although Britain came away with no medals in the discipline, to have three riders in the final eight is some achievement - particularly given the absence of reining world champion Chris Hoy.


1. Gregory Bauge (Fra)

2. Azizulhasni Awang (Mas)

3. Kevin Sireau (Fra)

4. Shane Perkins (Aus)

Race for 5-8 place

5. Jason Kenny (GB)

6. Matt Crampton (GB)

7. Mickael Bourgain (Fra)

8. Ross Edgar (GB)


Azizulhasni Awang (Mas) beat Ross Edgar (GB) 2-1

Gregory Bauge (Fra) beat Jason Kenny (GB) 2-0

Kevin Sireau (Fra) beat Matt Crampton (GB) 2-0

Shane Perkins (Aus) beat Mickael Bourgain (Fra) 2-0

Round 1/8 repechage

Gregory Bauge (Fra) beat Michael D'Almeida and Lei Zhang

Ross Edgar (GB) beat Stefan Nimke and Maximilian Levy

Round 1/8

Azizulhasni Awang (Mas) beat Gregory Bauge (Fra)

Jason Kenny (GB) beat Ross Edgar (GB)

Kevin Sireau (Fra) beat Stefan Nimke (Ger)

Mickael Bourgain (Fra) beat Mickael D'Almeida (Fra)

Shane Perkins (Aus) beat Maximilian Levi (Ger)

Matt Crampton (GB) beat Lei Zhang (Chn)

Round 1/16

Gregory Bauge (Fra) beat Miao Zhang (Chn)

Jason Kenny (GB) beat Daniel Ellis (Aus)

Kevin Sireau (Fra) beat Kazunari Watanabe (Jpn)

Mickael Bourgain (Fra) beat Christos Volikakis (Gre)

Shane Perkins (Aus) beat Valentin Savitskiy (Rus)

Matt Crampton (GB) beat Josiah Ng (Mas)

Lei Zhang (Chn) beat Andrii Vynokurov (Ukr)

Maximilian Levy (Ger) beat Scott Sunderland (Aus)

Michael D'Almeida (Fra) beat Teun Mulder (Ned)

Stefan Nimke (Ger) beat Robert Forstemann (Ger)

Ross Edgar (GB) beat Lukasz Kwiatkowski (Pol)

Azizulhasni Awang (Mas) beat Mohd Rizal Tisin (Mas)

Qualifying round

1. Gregory Bauge (Fra) 9.930

2. Jason Kenny (GB) 10.002

3. Kevin Sireau (Fra) 10.010

4. Mickael Bourgain (Fra) 10.040

5. Shane Perkins (Aus) 10.074

6. Matt Crampton (GB) 10.105

7. Lei Zhang (Chn) 10.116

8. Maximilian Levy (Ger) 10.175

9. Michael D'Almeida (Fra) 10.184

10. Stefan Nimke (Ger) 10.198

11. Ross Edgar (GB) 10.202

12. Azizulhasni Awang (Mas) 10.210

13. Mohd Rizal Tisin (Mas) 10.232

14= Robert Forstemann (Ger) 10.270

14= Lukasz Kwiatowski (Pol) 10.270

16. Teun Mulder (Ned) 10.294

17. Scott Sunderland (Aus) 10.314

18. Andrii Vynokurov (Ukr) 10.407

19. Josiah Ng (Mas) 10.439

20. Valentin Savitskiy (Rus) 10.453

21. Christos Volikakis (Gre) 10.464

22. Kazunari Watanabe (Jpn) 10.488

23. Daniel Ellis (Aus) 10.489

24. Miao Zhang (Chn) 10.496

Did not qualify

25. Denis Dmitriev (Rus) 10.513

26. Jason Niblett (Aus) 10.534

27. Adam Ptacnik (Cze) 10.565

28. Sergey Ruban (Rus) 10.584

29. Christopher Sellier (Tri) 10.601

30. Travis Smith (Can) 10.603

31. Leonardo Alfredo Narvaez Romero (Col) 10.608

32. Wen Hao Li (Chn) 10.644

33. Edward Dawkins (NZ) 10.654

34. Tomas Babek (Cze) 10.658

35. Simon Van Velthooven (NZ) 10.666

36. Filip Ditzel (Cze) 10.709

37. Alfredo Moreno Cano (Spa) 10.728

38. Clemens Selzer (Aut) 10.747

39. Hernan Sanchez Castillo (Col) 10.805

40. Jonathan Marin Cermeno (Col) 10.826

41. Kazuya Narita (Jpn) 10.829

42. Juan Peralta Gascon (Spa) 10.837

43. Yondi Schmidt (Ned) 10.869

44. Itmar Esteban Herraiz (Spa) 11.141


Follow Cycling Weekly on Twitter>>


The CW Hub: Track World Championships index

Women's points race: Armitstead proves she's a future champion

Women's keirin

Men's omnium

Men's Madison: Danes win as Kennaugh hits the deck

Women's sprint: Pendleton wins fourth title

Women's omnium

Women's scratch race: Silver for Armitstead

Men's kilo TT: Nimke beats Sir Chris's kilo record to take gold

Men's team pursuit: Britain get fourth

Women's team pursuit: Britain clinch gold

women's team sprint: Reade and Pendleton score silver

Men's scratch race: Cavendish marked out of contention

Men's individual pursuit: Phinney wins gold

Men's team sprint: France beat Britain

Men's Points Race: Newton gets bronze

Women's individual pursuit: Houvenaghel beaten to silver

500m TT: World record for Krupeckaite, bronze for Pendleton


Track worlds day four summary: Sensational Pendleton digs deep

Track worlds day three summary: Armitstead again

Track worlds day two summary: Golden girls deliver

Track worlds day one summary: steady start for team GB

Why there's no Brit in the individual pursuit

No individual pursuit for Britain at track worlds

No room for complacency in British Cycling: Iain Dyer interviewCavendish in the frame for Scratch race world title bid

2009 Track Cycling World Championships preview

Crampton set to fill Sir Chris Hoy's team sprint spot

2009 World Track Champs GB squad named

Hoy to miss world track champs

Track World Championships: British medal winners

CW's Dummies' Guide to Track Racing


Day three: Track Worlds 2009

Day two: Track Worlds 2009

Day one: Track Worlds 2009



Jonathan Bellis

Steven Burke

Mark Cavendish

Ed Clancy

Matt Crampton

David Daniell

Ross Edgar

Jason Kenny

Chris Newton

Jamie Staff


Lizzie Armitstead

Wendy Houvenaghel

Victoria Pendleton

Shanaze Reade

Joanna Rowsell

Jessica Varnish


International track results last season: 2007-2008

International track results this season: 2008-2009


Full results from the 2008 track worlds

Report: Sunday, day five>>

Report: Saturday, day four>>

Report: Friday, day three>>

Report: Thursday, day two>>

Report: Wednesday, day one>>


Track Cycling World Championships 2009 official website

Union Cycliste Internationale


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.