Peter Sagan wins the People's Choice Classic (video)

World champion Peter Sagan opens his account early with victory in the People's Choice Classic in Australia, the prelude to the Tour Down Under

Peter Sagan wins the 2018 People's Choice Classic.

(Image credit: Yuzuru Sunada)

Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) added his name to the list of winners of the People's Choice Classic on Sunday, winning the short criterium race in Adelaide.

The Tour Down Under warm-up race has been won in the past two years by Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott), but the Australian rider could not get the better of Sagan and had to settle for third behind André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.