Olympic Games homepage>>

Two 20-year-olds will line up for Great Britain on the opening day of the track programme at the Olympic Games.

Jason Kenny gets the nod for the qualifying round of the team sprint and takes his place between Jamie Staff and Chris Hoy in the Great Britain line-up.

Britain have been drawn in the same qualifying heat as the defending Olympic champions Germany. There are seven heats with 13 teams taking part. The fastest eight will go through to round one.

There is a strong medal chance but standing in the way of Britain and gold on Friday?s opening day of action from the Laoshan velodrome is the formidable French team sprint trio.

Meanwhile Steven Burke gets the second British place in the individual pursuit qualification round alongside Bradley Wiggins.

The 20-year-old will face Colombia?s Carlos Alzate in the second of nine heats. Defending champion Bradley Wiggins goes in the final heat against Russia?s Alexei Markov. The eight fastest riders qualify for round one.

In the women?s individual pursuit, Wendy Houvenaghel and reigning world champion Rebecca Romero go in the last two heats.

DAY ONE Friday, August 15

Note, all times are UK times


? Men?s team sprint qualifying, first round and finals

? Men?s individual pursuit qualifying round

? Women?s individual pursuit qualifying round


1 ? Men?s team sprint


Stuck in the office? Can?t see a telly? Join CW for live coverage of the first day on the track just before 9.30am (UK time).

9.30am Men’s team sprint qualifying

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Competition rules Fastest eight teams progress to round one where qualifying times will determine the draw. It will be 1st v 8th, 2nd v 7th, 3rd v 6th, 4th v 5th.

Start order

Heat 1

Poland (Maciej Bielecki, Kamil Kuczynski, Lukasz Kwiatowski)

Heat 2

USA (Michael Blatchford, Adam Duvendeck, Giddeon Massie)

Czech Republic (Tomas Babek, Adam Ptacnik, Denis Spicka)

Heat 3

Greece (Athanasios Mantzouranis, Vasilieios Reppas, Panagiotis Voukelatos)

Malaysia (Mohd Azizulhasni Awang, Josiah Ng, Mohd Rizal Tisin)

Heat 4

China (Yong Feng, Wenhao Li, Lei Zhang)

Japan (Kiyofumi Nagai, Tomohiro Nagatsuka, Kazunari Watanabe)

Heat 5

Australia (Daniel Ellis, Mark French, Shane Kelly)

Russia (Sergey Polynskiy, Denis Dmitriev, Sergey Kucherov)

Heat 6

Great Britain (Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny, Jamie Staff)

Germany (Rene Enders, Maximilian Levy, Stefan Nimke)

Heat 7

France (Gregory Bauge, Kevin Sireau, Arnaud Tournant)

Netherlands (Theo Bos, Teun Mulder, Tim Veldt)

9.55am Men’s individual pursuit qualifying

Competition rules Fastest eight riders progress to round one where qualifying times will determine the draw. It will be 1st v 8th, 2nd v 7th, 3rd v 6th, 4th v 5th.

Start list

Heat 1

Fabien Sanchez (France)

Brett Lancaster (Australia)

Heat 2

Carlos Alzate (Colombia)

Steven Burke (Great Britain)

Heat 3

Antonio Tauler (Spain)

Jens Mouris (Netherlands)

Heat 4

Vitaly Popkov (Ukraine)

Alexandr Pliuschin (Moldova)

Heat 5

Sergei Escobar (Spain)

Alexander Serov (Russia)

Heat 6

Taylor Phinney (USA)

Volodymyr Dyudya (Ukraine)

Heat 7

Bradley McGee (Australia)

David O?Loughlin (Ireland)

Heat 8

Jenning Huizenga (Netherlands)

Hayden Roulston (New Zealand)

Heat 9

Bradley Wiggins (Great Britain)

Alexei Markov (Russia)

10.45am Men’s team sprint first round

Competition rules Winners of the four heats progress to the medal races. The fastest two heat winners will contest gold and silver, the slowest two heat winners will go for bronze.

History repeating Great Britain will hope not to miss out as they did in Athens four years ago. Chris Hoy, Craig Maclean and Jamie Staff were only seventh in qualifying, which pitted them against eventual gold medalists Germany in the first round. With only the round winners going through to race for a medal, Germany won, eliminating Britain even though their time (44.075 seconds) was fast enough to win all three of the other heats and was in fact the second fastest of the entire competition.

Start list

To be decided

11am Women’s indivudual pursuit qualifying

Competition rules Fastest eight riders progress to round one where qualifying times will determine the draw. It will be 1st v 8th, 2nd v 7th, 3rd v 6th, 4th v 5th.

Start list

Heat 1

Evelyn Garcia (El Salvador)

Heat 2

Lada Kozlikova (Czech Republic)

Svetlana Pauliukaite (Lithuania)

Heat 3

Karin Thürig (Switzerland)

Verena Jooss (Germany)

Heat 4

Maria Luisa Calle (Colombia)

Vilija Sereikaite (Lithuania)

Heat 5

Lesya Kalitovska (Ukraine)

Alison Shanks (New Zealand)

Heat 6

Sarah Hammer (USA)

Wendy Houvenaghel (Great Britain)

Heat 7

Rebecca Romero (Great Britain)

Katie Mactier (Australia)

11.40am Team sprint finals

Start list

To be decided


British track stars raring to go

What makes the Laoshan such a challenge

Picture special: CW takes you inside the Laoshan velodrome

Can these legs make an Olympic champion?

Cavendish unlikely to ride individual pursuit


Positive test for cyclist at Olympic Games

Bettini chasing second Olympic gold

Romero poses nude for ad

British quartet eyeing new world record

As Olympics approach two new drugs emerge

Beijing Blog

Beijing Blog 2

Beijing Blog 3


Picture special: Women’s time trial

Cancellara wins men’s time trial gold

Men’s time trial reaction: Steve Cummings on his ride

Women’s time trial reaction: I feel fantastic, says Pooley

Pooley wins silver in women’s time trial

Cooke’s secret was the skinsuit

What the papers say… about Nicole Cooke

Analysis: women’s road race

Gold for Nicole Cooke in Women?s road race

Reaction: It?s a dream to win Gold, says Cooke

Women’s Olympic road race picture special

Sanchez gives Spain gold in thrilling men?s road race

Who is Samuel Sanchez?

Tactical analysis: Reading the men?s Olympic road race

British riders suffer in hot and humid Olympic road race

Rebellin misses out on golden birthday

Brailsford confident ahead of women?s road race


Olympic Games 2008 homepage>>

Olympics: latest news>>

Olympics cycling results>>

Cycling event schedule>>

Great Britain rider profiles>>

Cycling event guide>>

Photo gallery>>

British Olympic cycling medal winners>>