Mark Cavendish wins third stage of Tour of Qatar

Mark Cavendish wins, Tour of Qatar 2013, stage three

Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-Quick-Step) claimed his second win of the season at the end of stage three of the Tour of Qatar.

In a messy sprint finish, with numerous teams scrapping for supremacy, the Isle of Man rider appeared out of it well into the final kilometre. But as so often with Cavendish, he only needed the tiniest of gaps. When a crack appeared, he jumped and crossed the line a bike length ahead of Barry Markus (Vacansoleil) and Aidis Kruopis (Orica GreenEdge).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.