Aigul Gareeva takes wrong turn but still claims women's junior time trial world title

Brit Ely Bäckstedt took bronze after nearly crashing round a corner

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Russian Aigul Gareeva is the new female junior time trial world champion despite taking a wrong turn in the closing kilometres.

After posting fast times at the intermediate checks, Gareeva looked locked on for a medal, despite not being considered a race favourite before the start. As she closed in on the finish, a race marshal signalled for Gareeva to turn right, but she carried straight on, perhaps confused by the advertising hoardings continuing down a dead end.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.