Alaphilippe, Bernal, Roglič and Evenepoel nominated for Velo d'Or 2019

11 men and one woman have been nominated for the cyclist of the year award

Egan Bernal and Julian Alaphilippe on stage 21 of the Tour de France 2019 (Photo by Peter De Voecht-Pool/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Primož Roglič, Egan Bernal, Julian Alaphilippe and Remco Evenepoel are among the names nominated for the 2019 Velo d'Or, awarded to the best cyclist of the year.

12 riders in total have been shortlisted, 11 men and one woman, Annemiek van Vleuten (Mitchelton-Scott) being the one female representative following her stunning 100km solo ride to claim the women's road race title at the Yorkshire World Championships, as well as victories at Strade Bianche and the Giro Rosa.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1