Daniel Bigham and Hayley Simmonds claim National 25-mile Time Trial titles

South Wales hosted the 2017 National 25 Championships, with Hayley Simmonds taking her third title and Daniel Bigham continuing his stellar 2017 season - Photos by Andy Jones

Daniel Bigham, National 25-mile time trial 2017

(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Daniel Bigham and Hayley Simmonds won the senior titles in the 2017 National 25-Mile Time Trial Championships, held in the Vale of Neath, South Wales, over the weekend (August 5-6).

Windy conditions on the out-and-back course made it tricky for riders to gauge their effort, but Simmonds (WNT Pro Cycling) made no mistakes to clinch her third title in the event on Saturday.

Hayley Simmonds, National 25-mile time trial 2017
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Simmonds posted a time of 50-10 to beat second-placed Rachael Elliott (Drag2Zero) by one minute and 33 seconds on the R25/3h course. Anna Turvey (Tyneside Vagabonds CC) completed the podium in third, two seconds further adrift of Simmonds.

>>> Cycling time trials: how to get into time trialling

Sunday's men's championship saw Bigham (Brother NRG Wattshop) continue his streak of 2017 victories, claiming the 25 title with 45-40, an average speed of 32.847mph. That effort saw him place 19 seconds ahead of second-placed Tim Cartwright (Newbury RC).

Team Winners: Bottrill-HSS Hire
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Ryan Perry (Team Raleigh GAC) clocked 46-11 to finish in third spot. The team award went to Bottrill-HSS Hire, whose Matthew Smith, Stuart Travis and John Dewey finished in sixth, seventh and ninth respectively.

Cavan Walker (Prologue Race Team) and Pfeiffer Georgi (Liv CC-Epic Coaching) claimed the respective junior men's and women's 25 titles.

Daniel Bigham tops the men's podium
(Image credit: Andy Jones)


National 25-Mile Time Trial Championships 2017


1. Hayley Simmonds (WNT Pro Cycling) 50-10

2. Rachael Elliott (Drag2Zero) 51-43

3. Anna Turvey (Tyneside Vagabond CC) 51-45

4. Kate Allan (Drag2Zero) 51-50

5. Eileen Burns (Ballymena Road Club) 52-29

6. Alice Lethbridge (Drag2Zero) 52-40

7. Katie Greves (AS Test Team) 53-10

8. Molly Patch (Fusion RT Fierlan) 53-35

9. Victoria Smith (AeroCoach) 54-00

10. Kimberley Morrison (North Norfolk Wheelers) 45-25

Ryan Perry
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Tim Cartwright
(Image credit: Andy Jones)


1. Daniel Bigham (Brother NRG Wattshop) 45-50

2. Tim Cartwright (Newbury RC) 45-59

3. Ryan Perry (Team Raleigh GAC) 46-11

4. John Archibald (Pro Vision Cycle Clothing) 46-23

5. Kieron Davies (Drag2Zero) 46-38

6. Matthew Smith (Bottrill-HSS Hire) 46-48

7. Stuart Travis (Bottrill-HSS Hire) 47-09

8. James Boyman (Hoops Velo) 47-20

9. Jon Dewey (Bottrill-HSS Hire) 47-22

10. Chris Bartley (AS Test Team) 47-29

Cavan Walker, Junior men's winner
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Pfeiffer Georgi, junior women's winner
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

Junior men

1. Cavan Walker (Prologue Race Team) 48-52

2. Harrison Wood (Mid Devon CC) 49-18

2. Lyster Romero (TBW Bottechia Wigmore RT) 49-42

Junior women

1. Pfeiffer Georgi (Liv CC-Epic Coaching) 54-51

2. Caitlin Peters (i-Team CC) 59-21

3. Savannah Hewson (Liv AWOL) 1-02-08

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1