Dries Devenyns snatches victory with late move at Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2020

The Belgian takes his first victory since 2016 and Deceuninck - Quick-Step's 750th

Dries Devenyns wins the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2020 (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Deceuninck - Quick-Step's Dries Devenyns took a surprise victory at the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2020 after proving the most cunning of a 20-man move, slipping off the front of the group in the closing kilometres with Pavel Sivakov (Ineos) and beating the Russian in a two-up sprint.

Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott) came third as he led the first chase group over the line four seconds later, while Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) finished seventh 25 seconds behind at the front of a group containing Elia Viviani (Cofidis) and Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi. I'm Cycling Weekly's Weekend Editor. I like writing offbeat features and eating too much bread when working out on the road at bike races.

Before joining Cycling Weekly I worked at The Tab and I've also written for Vice, Time Out, and worked freelance for The Telegraph (I know, but I needed the money at the time so let me live).

I also worked for ITV Cycling between 2011-2018 on their Tour de France and Vuelta a España coverage. Sometimes I'd be helping the producers make the programme and other times I'd be getting the lunches. Just in case you were wondering - Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen had the same ham sandwich every day, it was great.