Esteban Chaves poised to win Herald Sun Tour after 20km solo attack brings victory on summit finish

Mitchelton-Scott now hold top three places in general classification with one stage remaining

Esteban Chaves on his way to victory on stage three of the Herald Sun Tour

(Image credit: Herald Sun Tour/Con Chronis)

Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-Scott) looks set for overall victory at the Herald Sun Tour after a brilliant solo attack delivered him to the win on the summit finish to Lake Mountain.

The only rider in the race with a Grand Tour podium to his name, Chaves was the favourite for the stage, but his form remained uncertain after a disappointing 2017 season disrupted by a knee injury.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1