Ian Stannard wins final stage of Herald Sun Tour as Damien Howson seals overall

British rider Ian Stannard makes it three wins for Team Sky in the Australian stage race, but Damien Howson fends off attacks from Chris Froome to take overall

Ian Stannard wins stage four of the 2017 Jayco Herald Sun Tour.

(Image credit: Mal Fairclough/AFP/Getty Images)

Ian Stannard handed Team Sky their third victory of the 2017 Jayco Herald Sun Tour in Australia, winning the final stage in Kingslake on Sunday, as Damien Howson (Orica-Scott) sealed the overall honours.

The hilly circuit navigated by the riders for the final stage was perfect Stannard territory, as he put himself into the day's large escape group on the first of four laps.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.